Flying Salukis Once Again Headed For National Competition After Eighth Straight Region VIII Win

by Pete Rosenbery
Published in Midwest Flyer – December 2018/January 2019 issue

CARBONDALE, ILL. – The Southern Illinois University Carbondale (SIUC) Flying Salukis punched another ticket to the national finals with the team’s eighth straight National Intercollegiate Flying Association (NIFA) Region VIII title, October 13, 2018 at Purdue University. SIU finished with 382 points and won the ground and air event categories. Purdue University was second with Lewis University third. Results are available at the NIFA website:

The team is an example of the quality of the program, its faculty, and students. Nathan J. Lincoln, a senior lecturer in the aviation management and flight degree program, coached the team to two of its national titles. This year’s team is another example of the program’s success.

Won eight of nine events with top five scorers in SCAN. The dominating performance included a clean sweep of simulated comprehensive aircraft navigation (SCAN), where students plan a cross-country flight and answer multiple questions that include regulations, performance calculations, weather, weight and balance and aeronautical decision-making.

The team also placed among the top four finishers in computer accuracy and power-off landing events, and among the top three in aircraft recognition and traditional navigation events. Traditional navigation is where pilots and safety observer teammates rely on maps without using GPS.

Ezell, Kay, lead the pack. Co-captains Jonathan Ezell and Robert Kay finished first and second, respectively, as top pilot and top scoring contestants. Ezell, a senior in aviation technologies from LaGrange Park, won the short-field landing event and placed in six other events. Kay, a senior in aviation management from Plainfield, won SCAN, and with Brody Wilson, a senior in aviation management and flight, won traditional navigation.

Other regional winners included:

•Aircraft preflight inspection – Trent D. Medernach, senior, aviation technologies and aviation flight, from Batavia.

•Aircraft recognition – Nicholas G. Weber, senior, aviation management, from Fredericksburg, Virginia.

•Computer accuracy – Andrew D. Finer, sophomore, aviation technologies and aviation flight, from Des Peres, Missouri.

•Message drop – Andrew D. Finer (dropmaster) and Warren Wudtke (pilot), senior, aviation management and flight, from Palos Park.

•Power-off landing – Brody Wilson, senior, aviation management and flight, from Elmhurst.

Other Flying Salukis, with hometowns, year in school, and majors are:


•Bloomington: Angel R. Cochran, senior, aviation management and flight.

•Chicago: Matthew M. Santos, freshman, aviation flight.

•Crystal Lake: Sean P. Sullivan, senior, aviation management.

•Geneva: Maxwell J. Hamilton, freshman, aviation management and flight.

•Maroa: Lukas A. Miller, junior, aviation management and flight.

•Mount Prospect: Colin J. Heisler, junior, aviation management and flight.

•Park Ridge: Gavin R. Voris, sophomore, aviation management and flight.

•South Barrington: Alex W. Evans, sophomore, aviation management and flight.

•Springfield: Thomas J. Smith, senior, aviation management and flight.

•Western Springs: Angelina R. Kapp, freshman, aviation technologies and aviation flight.


•Fayette: Matthew Browning, senior, aviation management and flight.

Assistant coach earns “Coach of the Year” honors. Teddy Keenan, a member of the 2015 national championship team and an assistant instructor in the program, received Coach of the Year recognition. The other assistant coaches are Mike LeFevre and Kendra Wendling, also assistant instructors.

Regular competitor at nationals. The title qualifies the nine-time national champions for NIFA national competition for the 49th time in 50 years. The national event will be held May 13-18, 2019 at Southern Wisconsin Regional Airport in Janesville, Wisconsin, and hosted by the University of Wisconsin-Madison. The Flying Salukis finished third last year, marking the eighth straight year the team finished in the top three in the nation.

The team has national titles dating back to 1977 with the most recent in 2011, 2014 and 2015.

Lineup changes for national event. Kay, Browning and Wilson will graduate before the national competition. Ezell and Finer will take their place as captains.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • RSS
  • Facebook
  • MySpace
  • Reddit
This entry was posted in All Features, December 2018/January 2019, Education, Features and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply