EAA Honors Five Aviators At Hall of Fame

Published in Midwest Flyer – February/March 2020 issue

OSHKOSH, WIS. – The Experimental Aircraft Association (EAA) recognized the contributions made by five members to the world of flight, as they were inducted into the EAA Sport Aviation Halls of Fame, November 7, 2019, at the EAA Aviation Center in Oshkosh, Wisconsin.

EAA Homebuilders Hall of Fame: Robert Nuckolls of Medicine Lodge, Kansas (EAA 205021) is an expert in aircraft electrical systems. His knowledge and experience have been invaluable to aircraft builders for more than 30 years.

International Aerobatic Club Hall of Fame: John Morrissey of Lee’s Summit, Missouri (EAA 83879) has been involved in aerobatic competition since the 1970s, won national championships in both the Sportsman and Advanced Categories, and competed in the World Aerobatic Championships. Morrissey is also known for his specialized aerobatic training camps, which have shaped many aerobatic careers.

Warbirds of America Hall of Fame: Dennis Sanders of Ione, California (EAA 299945) and his family have spent decades restoring and maintaining warbirds, particularly the Hawker Sea Fury. Sanders is perhaps best known for his participation in the Unlimited Gold Category at the National Championship Air Races in Reno, Nevada, which he won the 2019 national title with the legendary Sea Fury “Dreadnought.”

Vintage Aircraft Association Hall of Fame: John Turgyan of New Egypt, New Jersey (EAA 71313) has had a steadfast commitment to the preservation and restoration of vintage aircraft. He has owned, restored or maintained a Ryan, Stinson, Howard, Spartan, Beech, and Waco.

EAA Ultralights Hall of Fame: James Morris “Morry” Hummel (EAA 8892) was inducted posthumously for his role in the interest and growth of the ultralight community, beginning with his “HummelBird” in the 1980s, and the all-metal “UltraCruiser.”

Michel Bryson of Oshkosh, Wis., received the “Henry Kimberly Spirit of Leadership Award” for having chaired the International Visitors Tent team at EAA AirVenture Oshkosh for more than 15 years.

This entry was posted in All Headlines, Awards & Recognitions, EAA & AirVenture, Feb/March 2020, Headlines, People and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply