New EAA Board Members Bring Extensive Homebuilt, Chapter & Flying Experience

OSHKOSH, WIS. – Three aviators with extensive experience in EAA programs and activities have joined the top leadership of the Experimental Aircraft Association (EAA) as the newest members of the EAA Board of Directors.

Alan Klapmeier, James Clark, and Cody Welch were elected to the EAA Board of Directors during the annual EAA membership meeting on July 31, held as part of the annual EAA AirVenture fly-in at Oshkosh, Wis. As Class I directors, they will each serve a three-year term.

Alan Klapmeier, of Superior, Wis., is currently chairman and CEO of Kestrel Aircraft. He was also cofounder of Cirrus Aircraft.

James Clark, of Columbia, S.C., is co-founder of BANG! Technologies and was previously vice president of AT&T, executive director of Bell Labs, and chief technology officer of NCR Corporation. He also served as chairman for the 60th anniversary reunion of the Tuskegee Airmen. Clark is the former president of EAA Chapter 242, has co-built an RV-6 and is building an RV-6A. He is an active Young Eagles pilot and a member of Team AeroDynamix – a precision formation team featuring RV-series aircraft.

Cody Welch, of Linden, Mich., is a retired B-757 pilot for a major airline and was a 2003 EAA President’s Award recipient. He helped develop EAA’s Tri-Motor tour program and is currently its chairman, having flown as captain on the Tri-Motor since 1993. Additionally, Welch is a co-developer of Horizon Lakes residential airpark, manager of Price Airport in Linden, Mich., and has owned/operated three fixed base operations and an aircraft sales business.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • RSS
  • Facebook
  • MySpace
  • Reddit
This entry was posted in All Headlines, EAA & AirVenture, Headlines, October/November 2013, People and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply