Minnesota Airport Managers Meet In Bemidji

BEMIDJI, MINN. – The Minnesota Airports Conference held April 16-18, 2014 at the Sanford Center in Bemidji, featured 35 vendors, and technical sessions presented by AirTap. The conference was sponsored by the Minnesota Council of Airports (MCOA) and the Minnesota DOT Office of Aeronautics.

Awards presented included Duluth International Airport receiving the Commercial Service Airport Project of the Year Award for its terminal reconstruction project; and Fairmont Municipal Airport received the Non-Commercial Service Airport Project of the Year Award for its main runway, taxiways and apron rehabilitation project. Moose Lake-Carlton County Airport received the Intermediate Airport of the Year Award for its major reconstruction of the main runway, taxiway and apron using the SFDR process. Also named Intermediate Airport of the Year was New Ulm Municipal Airport for its main runway reconstruction project.

The Outstanding Service Award went to Harold VanLeeuwen of Bemidji, Minnesota, for his service as MCOA Vice Chairman and Chairman, and the many contributions he has made to Minnesota aviation during his 10 years of service.

MCOA scholarships were awarded to Sara Caton of Plymouth, Minn., who is a junior majoring in Airport Management at the University of North Dakota (UND) in Grand Forks, N.D. with a 3.5 GPA; and Gretchen Eichstadt of Mankato, Minn., who is a senior majoring in Aviation Management at Minnesota State University in Mankato, Minn. with a 3.61 GPA.

The FAA/Governor’s Award was presented to New Ulm Municipal Airport for its extensive runway reconstruction project. Presenting the award was Cassandra Isackson of the Minnesota DOT Office of Aeronautics, and Barry Cooper of the FAA Great Lakes Region.

The MCOA Board of Directors met April 17 to elect officers. Joe Harris, manager at Anoka County-Blaine Airport, was elected chairman to replace Shaun Germolus of Range Regional Airport, Hibbing, Minnesota. Jeff Wig, manager at Brainerd Lakes Regional Airport, was elected vice chairman, and Mark Hagen, chairman of the Detroit Lakes Airport Commission, was elected secretary/treasurer. For additional information, contact Joe Harris at 763-717-0001 or email: joe.harris@mspmac.org.

This entry was posted in Events, June/July 2014, Sections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.